• Shri Saswat Mishra
    Shri Saswat Mishra, IAS
    Principal Secretary


High Power Committee (HPC) in the Higher Education Department has been constituted under sub-section (15) of section-5 and sub section (4) of section-6 of the Orissa Education Act, 1969 (Orissa Act 15 of 1969). Any Non-Government Educational institutions of Junior, Degree or professional colleges need the approval of HPC for their establishment.


HPC considers the proposals received from the Prescribed Authorities as the Director, Higher Education, Odisha in case of Professional Colleges, the Regional Directors of Education, Bhubaneswar, Berhampur, Sambalpur, Baleswar and Jeypore in case of +3 colleges in the state. The sole work of HPC is to decide on the opening permission; increase of seats; permanent recognition; closure of a college; opening permission for Honours Subject; opening permission for a new subject in a college; change of place of a college etc.

Members of the Committee

The following are the members for grant of Permission & Recognition to +3 Degree colleges including Shastri courses in Sanskrit Colleges of the state.

  • Principal Secretary/ Commissioner-cum-Secretary,Department of Higher Education (Chairman).
  • Director, Higher Education, Odisha, Bhubaneswar.
  • Representative of Finance Department (Not below the rank of Deputy Secretary).
  • Representative of Law Department (Not below the rank of Deputy Secretary).
  • Vice-Chancellor, Shree Jagannath Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Puri or his representative.
  • Vice-Chancellor, Utkal University,Bhubaneswar or his representative.
  • Vice-Chancellor, Berhampur University,Berhampur or his representative.
  • Vice-Chancellor, Sambalpur University,Sambalpur or his representative.
  • Vice-Chancellor, Fakir Mohan University,Balasore or his representative.
  • Vice-Chancellor, North Odisha University,Baripada or his representative.
  • Vice-Chancellor, Rama Devi Women's University,Bhubaneswar or his representative.
  • Regional Director of Education, Berhampur.
  • Regional Director of Education, Sambalpur.
  • Regional Director of Education, Bhubaneswar.
  • Regional Director of Education, Baleswar.
  • Regional Director of Education, Jeypore.
  • Additional/Joint/Deputy Secretary, Department of Higher Education.