• Shri Naveen Patnaik
    Shri Naveen Patnaik
    Hon'ble Chief Minister
    Government of Odisha
  • Shri Ananta Das
    Shri Ananta Das
    Hon'ble Minister
    Government of Odisha
  • Shri Bishnupada Sethi
    Shri Bishnupada Sethi, IAS
    Commissioner cum Secretary

New Initiative

Major Initiatives of Higher Education Department, Government of Odisha.

  • Odisha State Higher Education Council (OSHEC) was formed through a resolution by the executive order of the Govt. of Odisha on 09/05/2014. Members to the Council were nominated by the State Government on 10/12/2015
  • R.D.Women's (Autonomous) College, Bhubaneswar; Khallikote (Autonomous) College, Berhampur and G.M. (Autonomous) College, Sambalpur were up-graded into universities under RUSA project and were declared as Universities on 30th May, 2015.
  • State Open University at Sambalpur was set up at Sambalpur.
  • Three (03) Colleges were up-graded to Model Degree Colieges(S.C.S College, Puri, KKS Women's College, Balasore and Govt. College, Sundargarh) under Rashtriya Uchhatar Sikshya Abhiyan(RUSA) project of MHRD.
  • New Model Degree Colleges have been set up in 08 Educationally Backward Districts (Boudh. Deogarh, Malkanagiri, Nawarangpur, Nayagarh, Nuapada, Rayagada, Sonepur) under RUSA project of MHRD and are under construction.
  • UGC assisted Community Colleges have been opened in 07 Autonomous Colleges with trade-related courses viz. Tourism and Hospitality Management and Retail Management.
  • Higher Education in Govt. of Odisha has applied to open B. Ed. a m. Ed. courses in all State universities and 16 Govt. colleges.
  • 1.2 Lakh seats in Junior Colleges and 54,000 seats in Degree colleges were increased to increase the GER of higher education in Odisha (from 17.5 % to 30% by 2020).

Important Links

Student Academic Management System